Critical Infrastructure ProtectionRelated Readings

Canada’s Senate Committee Examines Threats on our Critical Infrastructure

By April 19, 2016 No Comments

On Monday, April 18, 2016  the standing Senate committee on national security and defence hosted what may be the first ever public forum on critical infrastructure attacks in Canada.

Two of the witnesses testifying were Mackenzie Institute Advisory Board members: Dr. Peter Vincent Pry, Executive Director of the EMP Task Force on National and Homeland Security; and Cynthia Ayers, Deputy Director of the EMP Task Force on National and Homeland Security. Thomas Popik, Chairman of Foundation for Resilient Societies, has participated in our October 2016 conference on Resilient Critical Infrastructure & Cyber Security.

The entire forum can be viewed here.

Dr. Peter Power begins at 15:34:50

Cynthia Ayers begins at 15:43:10

Thomas Popik begins at 15:51:35


1. Examine and report on Canada’s national security and defence policies, practices, circumstances and capabilities

Canadian Space Agency  – Sylvain Laporte, PresidentManon Larocque, Acting Director General, Policy; Luc Brûlé, Vice-President

Public Safety Canada – Lori MacDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Management and Programs Branch; Dominik Breton, Director, National Search and Rescue Secretariat

Canadian Coast Guard  – Gregory Lick, Director General, Operations; Peter Garapick, Superintendent Search and Rescue, Central and Arctic Region National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces; Rear-Admiral Peter Ellis, Deputy Commander, Canadian Joint Operations Command

2. Study on security threats facing Canada, including but not limited to:(a) Cyber espionage; (b) Threats to critical infrastructure; (c) Terrorist recruitment and financing; (d) Terrorist operations and prosecutions 

EMP Task Force on National and Homeland Security – Peter Vincent Pry, Executive Director; Cynthia Ayers, Deputy Director

Foundation for Resilient Societies – Thomas S. Popik, Chairman